News http://wemcradio.org en WMRA Sustainability Summit - Staunton http://wemcradio.org/post/wmra-sustainability-summit-staunton <p>Saturday afternoon, May 17th, WMRA is hosting the second in a series of <em>Sustainability Summits</em>. This is a forum to share your ideas on how our community can sustain the future of WMRA. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Al Bartholet 38933 at http://wemcradio.org Virginia’s Sierra http://wemcradio.org/post/virginia-s-sierra <p>When someone says "Sierra Club," do you think about environmentalists somewhere out west doing their work near the Sierra mountains? Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38913 at http://wemcradio.org Virginia’s Sierra Earth Week? http://wemcradio.org/post/earth-week <p>44 years ago, April 22 marked the first official, "Earth Day." (It got started here in the U.S. but soon spread across the globe.)&nbsp;</p><p>Now some Virginia environmentalists are among those who believe a whole, "Earth Week," is in order. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38644 at http://wemcradio.org Earth Week? Yoga Pink http://wemcradio.org/post/yoga-pink <p>Susan Nelson’s story of breast cancer survival and Kundalini yoga.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:20:40 +0000 Martha Woodroof 38544 at http://wemcradio.org Yoga Pink A Virginia Politics Update http://wemcradio.org/post/virginia-politics-update-9 <p>Virginia’s new fiscal year begins the first of July. Normally, well before now, lawmakers would have already approved a spending plan for that new fiscal year.&nbsp; The plan would help fund public schools and local governments, as well as cover the cost of every single state agency. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38481 at http://wemcradio.org A Virginia Politics Update Breaking Bread with Philosophy - An Update http://wemcradio.org/post/breaking-bread-philosophy-update <p>When Marietta McCarty wrote her most recent book, she envisioned people using it as a guide for dinnertime conversation in people’s homes. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 38339 at http://wemcradio.org Breaking Bread with Philosophy - An Update Jazz Singer http://wemcradio.org/post/jazz-singer <p>After years of absorbing musical influences from Brooklyn and Boston, jazz singer Nadine Chase in 2007 settled in the Shenandoah Valley. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:19:44 +0000 Martha Woodroof 38310 at http://wemcradio.org Jazz Singer A Fireman’s Tale http://wemcradio.org/post/fireman-s-tale <p>You saved lives as a medic in Vietnam... explored the deepest seas as a Navy salvage diver... and even spent time as a theater director in New York.&nbsp;</p><p>But your favorite job?&nbsp;</p><p>Your years as a Virginia firefighter.</p><p>We talk with Danny Lliteras about his new memoir, <em>Flames and Smoke Visible</em>.</p><p></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37665 at http://wemcradio.org A Fireman’s Tale Independence Technology http://wemcradio.org/post/independence-technology-0 <p>Technology... It is supposed to make life easier, save us time and effort, and make us more free. But is that always the case? Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37825 at http://wemcradio.org Independence Technology He's Puzzling http://wemcradio.org/post/hes-puzzling <p>WMRA's Martha Woodroof chats with Staunton's Matt Gaffney, whose puzzles have been published by the <em>New York Times</em>, <em>Newsday</em>, the <em>Wall Street Journal</em>, the <em>Washington Post</em>, <em>GAMES Magazine</em>, the <em>Los Angeles Times</em>, and others.&nbsp; Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Martha Woodroof 32263 at http://wemcradio.org He's Puzzling Key Questions About Wrongful Convictions http://wemcradio.org/post/key-questions-about-wrongful-convictions-0 <p>After researching hundreds of trials and tens of thousands of court documents, a Virginia lawyer is pursuing some critical questions about wrongful convictions. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Graham 37824 at http://wemcradio.org Key Questions About Wrongful Convictions